Weston Swears in First Woman as Mayor

Weston Commissioner being swarn in

The City of Weston swore in its first-ever woman as Mayor on November 15th. Margaret “Peggy” Brown raised her right hand and took her oath of office at the Weston City Commission meeting. She was joined in the swearing-ceremony ceremony by the city’s two newest Commissioners, Chris Eddy and Henry Mead

Brown is no new-comer to city politics. She served on the Commission from November 2016, till her election as Mayor. She also served on the Broward League of Cities Board of Directors from 2018 to 2019. She was also Executive Director of Hearing and Communications in Florida, a not-for-profit agency which provides life-affirming hearing health care and audiological services, educational workshops and trainings, after school programs, case management, mental health counseling, and advocacy for the hard-of-hearing, deaf, and deaf/blind in South Florida. She is a Coast Guard veteran and has called Weston home for more than 20 years. She won a three-way race over Rick Stark and former Commissioner Jim Norton.

Chris Eddy won Commission Seat 1 over Rafael “Papa” Pons and Jason Zaunder. Eddy is a retired Brigadier General in the United States Air Force and former FBI Agent. Eddy served as a Board of Director at South Florida-based Freedom Veterans of America and currently serves as a Board of Director at the Prestige Club, a charity focused on improving the lives of disadvantaged Broward children.  He is also active in the Rotary Club of Weston and serves as the Chair of its Veteran programs. 

Commission Seat 2 was won by Henry Mead over Dalia Quinones-Zayas and Kim Schnitzius. He has lived in Weston since 2008 and has been active on the Home Owners’ Association and has been involved in city politics during the reconstruction of Peace Mound Park. Mead was an entrepreneur, owning women’s retail shoe stores, a catering business, and a home health agency caring for patients requiring specialized care such as IV therapy, chemotherapy, and specialized wound care.

The new Commission members joined existing Commissioners Byron Jaffe and Mary Molina-Macfie for their first meeting while wearing masks under COVID-19 protocols.